Comments from the President of the Dallas Geophysical Society

President's Message for October 2017

I think I speak for all of us hoping that this is the last 90 degree weekend of the year. I am looking forward to mild fall days, baseball playoffs, leaves changing colors and maybe a light dusting of snow this winter. I am going to make time for mid afternoon walks here at our Plano campus a couple times per week. A beautiful fall day can provide a lot of perspective. Keep your eyes open and head up. Besides those mid afternoon walks, I also suggest that everyone that is reading this plan to actively participate, at least once per month, in a local society event. 

On that note, SEG Houston was a great opportunity for networking and knowledge sharing – and perspective. It was the first major conference in Houston post-Harvey and we had a great turnout. The count I am hearing is over 7100 registrations. If you were lucky enough to have the opportunity to attend the conference, I hope you took full advantage of the latest innovations available to the geophysical industry. To that point, if there was anything that you feel should be shared with the Dallas Society through a luncheon or eblast, please send those ideas to me directly at

This month’s luncheon is a joint Geological/Geophysical luncheon and I hope you can attend and share the invite with others that might have interest attending. Marianne Rauch-Davies will be sharing "Why we should perform PSDM and calculate seismic attributes in the depth domain, examples from the Woodford formation" at Denbury next Thursday October 12 at 11:30. Click here for more information.  
Note: Dallas Geological Society members should sign up as non-members on the Dallas Geophysical Society website. Enter the promotional code dallasgeologicalsociety to receive your $5 discount. 

Considering the local oil industry environment, registration for the annual Dallas Geophysical Society golf tournament is going well. We have nearly 60 registrations so far and hope to grow that number to 80-100 by the registration deadline on October 10. The actual event is on October 17 at Bear Creek Golf Club. Please remember that those impacted by Harvey still need our help. As a reminder, we plan to share half of our golf tournament profits with those assisting those folk in the Houston area get back on their feet. For more information click here.

Also, this month's International Meeting and Dinner is on Wendesday, October 18 at Brookhaven Country Club. "Structural Evolution of the Super-Giant Gas Condensate North Field, Offshore Qatar" given by Louis Christian. For more info and to register click here

Please save the date for the annual joint Geological/Geophysical Christmas party at the Winspeare Opera House. Join us for dinner, drinks and "How the Grinch Stole Christmas". Register now and get your tickets early. Info Here.

Trevor Richards
President, Dallas Geophysical Society

Dallas Geophysical Society Calendar

Upcoming Events


Advertise With Us!